Telestroke news

Telestroke is a Premier's Award finalist

28 Oct 2021 Reading time approximately

The NSW Telestroke Service has been selected as a finalist in the Excellence in Digital Innovation category at the 2021 Premier's Awards.

The Premier’s Awards highlight and celebrate a world-class public service, delivering services to the people of NSW.

The Agency for Clinical Innovation (ACI) has been integral to the Telestroke project, working closely with local sites and other implementation partners to roll the service out to up to 23 sites by June 2022. Congratulations to the ACI staff who have contributed to this project:

  • Chris Ball, Stream Manager
  • Clementia Yap, Centre for Healthcare Redesign Capability Manager
  • Courtney Dixon, Telestroke Implementation Manager
  • Ellen Rawstron, Clinical Executive Director
  • Kate Jackson, previous Stroke Network Manager
  • Natalie Wilson, Stroke Network Manager
  • Nikki Austin, Stream Project Officer
  • Skye Russell, Telestroke Project Officer

ACI's Telestroke team

The ACI's Telestroke team: Chris Ball, Clementia Yap, Courtney Dixon, Skye Russell, Nikki Austen, Natalie Wilson and Ellen Rawstron.

About the NSW Telestroke Service

Telestroke connects regional and rural emergency department doctors to stroke specialists, available 24/7 via video consultation.

Implementation is a collaboration between the Prince of Wales Hospital, eHealth NSW, Agency for Clinical Innovation and the Ministry of Health. The service has helped more than 1,000 patients in NSW since its launch in March 2020 and will expand to up to 23 sites across NSW by June 2022.

The service is a $21.7 million NSW Government election commitment announced in March 2019 and jointly funded by the NSW and Commonwealth Governments.

Premier's Awards finalist 2021

Watch the 2021 Premier's Awards

The winners will be announced at a virtual event ceremony on 3 November, 4-5:10pm, being livestreamed on the Premier’s Awards website.

Back to top