Fact sheetDiet specifications

Published on 1 Nov 2012

Allergy diet - milk, egg, soy, wheat, seafood, peanut and tree nut free

This document is part of the ACI Diet Specifications for Paediatric Inpatients. It is not to be used for patient education.


To provide a diet suitable for patients with allergy to milk/dairy, egg, soy, wheat, seafood, peanut and tree nuts.


Foods free of milk/dairy, egg, soy, wheat, seafood, peanut, tree nuts and any food items containing them. Nutritious snacks are important to achieve energy needs, as well as specialised dietary products and supplements.


Multiple food allergy, Eosinophilic Oesophagitis.

Nutritional adequacy

Nutritionally adequate. Assessment and menu planning supervision by an on-site clinical dietitian is required. Nutrition supplements may be required to meet patients’ energy and/or nutrient needs.


Should be initiated by a physician. An on-site clinical dietitian should be involved in the assessment and implementation of the diet. For children who do not need this level of food exclusion, the appropriate individual allergy diet(s) should be selected from the Therapeutic diet specifications for adult inpatients to maximise nutritional value and variety.

Note:  Gluten is one of the proteins found in wheat, barley, oats and rye. If a product is gluten free it will be wheat free. In this diet only wheat protein is avoided. Oats, barley and rye are suitable. Glucose from wheat is suitable.

Specific menu planning guidelines

Allowed Not allowed
Hot main dishes

All meats: lamb, beef, pork, chicken, duck, turkey, bacon, ham (wheat-free), gluten-free, egg-free sausages

Vegetarian main dishes containing fresh, dried, canned and frozen vegetables

Chickpeas, legumes

Gluten-free baked beans

Meat marinated in sauce

Hamburgers containing egg and/or wheat

Sausages, rissoles, meatloaf containing wheat, soy, egg

Fish, shellfish

Egg white, yolk, dried, powdered, solids

Tofu, soy cheese or soy drink

Meats crumbed or battered in wheat flour/bread crumbs

Meat/casseroles thickened with wheat flour

Canned vegetables/legumes thickened with wheat

Pizza base


Main meals containing cream, cheese or milk

Sauces, gravies

Gravies thickened with gluten-free flours including cornflour, arrowroot, rice flour, potato flour, chickpea flour, tapioca flour, polenta

Gluten-free tomato sauce

Gravies thickened with wheat flour, semolina

Cheese sauce, white sauce

Soy sauce, miso, tamari

Sauces made with egg, milk/dairy, wheat, fish, cream, cheese, sour cream

Gluten containing tomato sauce

Starchy vegetables/pasta/rice

Plain potatoes, sweet potato, rice, including rice noodles, rice paper rolls

Gluten-free pasta, including pasta made from corn, amaranth, quinoa, millet, buckwheat, vegetables

Coatings/batters containing wheat/egg/dairy

Potato chips dusted in wheat flour, soy or dairy

All pasta containing wheat, gluten, milk and egg

Couscous, semolina


All fresh, dried, canned and frozen vegetables

Canned vegetables and legumes thickened with wheat

Canned vegetables in cream (e.g. mushrooms in butter sauce)

Wheat flour coated or dusted potato wedges and potato chips

Vegetables battered/crumbed in wheat flour/ breadcrumbs

SoupsSoups made from allowed ingredients, including meat, vegetables, lentils, legumes (except soy and peanuts), rice and gluten-free pastaSoups containing wheat, milk/dairy, egg, soy, nuts, cream

Meat, chicken, salad vegetables, gluten-free ham and bacon

All made on gluten-free bread/rolls made from the following: rice flour, oats, rye, barley, millet, buckwheat, polenta, corn, quinoa, tapioca, potato flour, sago, amaranth, sorghum, arrowroot, chickpea (besan), lupin, lentil, pea, psyllium husk, polenta, xanthan gum, guar gum

Milk-free margarine

Egg, cheese, fish, seafood, tofu, sausage meats, salami

Breads, rolls, muffins, bagels, crumpets containing wheat, milk/dairy, egg, soy, peanut and tree nuts

Butter and most margarines

Salads, dressings



Full bean mix

White vinegar, oil, lemon juice

Gluten-free tomato sauce

Herbs and spices

Canned vegetables, vegetables thickened with wheat

Milk, cream, cheese


Egg, mayonnaise

Peanut or satay sauce

Breads, cereals

Rice cereal, puffed rice, rolled rice

Infant rice cereal (gluten-free)

Gluten-free cereals made from grains (e.g. corn, oats, rye, barley, millet, buckwheat, arrowroot, tapioca and other allowed cereals)


Breads/cereals made from gluten-free grain/ flour (e.g. rice flour, oat flour, rye flour, barley flour, millet flour, buckwheat flour, polenta (corn meal), corn (maize) flour, quinoa, tapioca flour, potato flour, sago flour, amaranth grain, sorghum flour, arrowroot flour, chickpea (besan) flour, lupin flour, lentil flour, pea flour, psyllium husk, polenta, xanthum gum, guar gum

Gluten-free bake mixes, etc.

Taco shells, white corn tortillas

Gluten-free baking powder

Dextrose (wheat)


Breakfast cereals made from wheat, soy, milk/ dairy, peanut and tree nuts


All breads, rolls, muffins, bagels, crumpets containing wheat, rye, barley, oats, milk, egg, soy, peanut and tree nuts

Wheat – and its varieties: plain flour, self raising flour, wheat germ, wheat meal, wheat bran, wheat starch

Grains – and its varieties: spelt, kamat, durum, semolina/farina, bulgar (burghul), triticale, bread crumbs, baking powder, thickener numbers 1400-1450 (if derived from wheat), dextrin (wheat), modified starch (wheat)


Milk-free margarine

Honey, jam, golden syrup, maple syrup


Butter, margarine containing milk, egg, soy, wheat, peanuts or tree nuts

All spreads containing milk, egg, soy, wheat, peanuts and tree nuts

Peanut butter, nut spreads

Hot breakfast choices

Bacon (wheat-free), gluten-free, soy-free and egg-free sausages

Tomato, mushrooms

Gluten-free baked beans

Gluten-free spaghetti (no cheese)

Gluten-free hash browns

Gluten-free creamed corn


Baked beans/creamed corn thickened with wheat flour

Hash browns containing wheat flour

FruitAll fresh, canned, dried and frozen fruitFruits with pastry, cake, batter or sauces thickened with wheat flour


Ice blocks

Sweetened toppings (gluten-free)

Gluten-, soy-, milk-free cake mix

Custard made on rice drink thickened with cornflour

Milk and egg free sorbet and gelato

Milk, soy, nut and egg free chocolate


Ice-cream, milk puddings, custard


Cakes containing wheat

Desserts containing egg such as meringue, pavlova

Chocolate containing milk, egg, soy and nuts

All nuts

Milk and cheese

Rice drink (fortified with calcium)

Soy lecithin

Milk, soy beverage

Custard and dairy desserts

Butter, cheese

Cream, sour cream, ice-cream



Fruit juice, vegetable juice

Rice drink

Lemonade, cordial

Black tea and herbal tea


Caramel colour (wheat – no detectable gluten)

Sweetened gluten-free toppings

Cocoa and carob

Milk-based drinks, such as milkshakes, malted milk, flavoured milk

Milo®, drinking chocolate

Soy beverage

Drinks containing maltodextrin (wheat)


Rice crackers and cakes, corn crackers, corn thins

Gluten, egg, milk, soy, and nut free biscuits and crackers

Biscuits and crackers containing gluten, egg, wheat, soy, milk, peanuts, tree nuts

Salt, pepper, herbs

Gluten, soy, egg, and dairy-free stocks/stock powder

Selected confectionery (made with wheat or corn glucose)

Glucose polymer

Plain potato chips, corn chips, popcorn, taco shells

Muesli bars

All snack food containing wheat rye, barley, oats, soy, egg, milk, peanuts and tree nuts

All nuts including almonds, brazil nuts, cashews, pistachios, peanuts, chestnuts, macadamia nuts, walnuts, pine nuts

Stocks, seasoning with added wheat, soy, nuts, dairy


Nuts (all)

Any nut oil


  1. Spergel J, M and Shuker M. Nutritional Management of Eosinophilic Esophagitis Gastrointest Endoscopy Clinics N Am 18 (2008), 179-194.
Back to top