General diet - halal
This document is part of the ACI Diet Specifications for Adult Inpatients. It is not to be used for patient education.
To provide a diet suitable for patients of Islamic faith.
Avoids all pork products and alcohol. All meat should be halal.
Available on request to Muslim patients.
Use only halal-certified meat and avoid gelatine, which is usually from non-halal animal sources. Avoid all pork products: this includes foods such as biscuits, pastry and cakes that may have pork fat added (pork fat may be labelled as animal fat). Avoid all food and ingredients containing alcohol. Avoid all animal fat except butter. Compliancy is to be based on ingredient compliancy and not provision of halal certification provided by manufacturers. It is not necessary to use separate cooking pots and utensils for halal food, provided adequate cleaning processes can be demonstrated. A food safety program should be able to demonstrate adequate separation of halal and haram foods.
Different denominations of Islam may have different views on which ingredients are halal or haram. Where this occurs we have coded to the strictest interpretation.
Suitable for use in paediatrics when combined with an age-appropriate diet.
Specific menu planning guidelines
|Hot main dishes|
Beef, lamb, chicken killed by Muslim slaughter methods (halal)
All seafood, beans, eggs, cooked with water or with vegetable oils or margarine
Pork and pork products (e.g. ham, bacon, salami, sausages)
Foods containing alcohol
|Sauces, gravies||All, prepared without animal fat||Most stock powders with animal fat|
|Starchy vegetables / pasta / rice||All, cooked with water, vegetable fats or butter||Any fried or roasted in animal fats|
|Vegetables||All, cooked with water, vegetable fats or butter||Any fried or roasted in animal fats|
|Soups||Any made without pork, ham or animal fats||Any made with stock based on ham bones|
|Sandwiches||Any made with halal meat, seafood, eggs or cheese||Pork and pork products (e.g. ham, bacon, salami)|
|Salads, dressings||Any made with halal meat, seafood, eggs or cheese. Use vegetable oils in dressings||Pork and pork products (e.g. ham, bacon, salami)|
|Spreads||Vegetable margarine or butter||Margarine made with animal fats|
|Hot breakfast choices||Eggs, baked beans, vegetables, spaghetti||Pork products (e.g. ham, bacon, sausages)|
|Yoghurt||Yoghurt with halal gelatine||Yoghurt with regular gelatine|
|Milk and cheese||All milk. cheese with halal rennet||Cheese with regular rennet.|
|Beverages||Tea, coffee, soft drinks, cordial, pasteurised fruit juices||Fresh fruit juices (because of perceived fermentation risk)|
|Biscuits||Any made with vegetable oils and fats||Any made with animal fats|
Coconut milk, herbs and spices, pickles, chutney, vanilla bean
Nutritional supplements containing allowed ingredients
Flavour essences with alcohol base
Cochineal colouring (also called carmine, carminic acid, colour 120 or natural red 4)
- Australian Halal Food Directory.
- Dietitians Association of Australia. Nutrition manual. 8th ed. Canberra: DAA; 2009.
- Regenstein JM, Chaudry MM, Regenstein CE. The Kosher and Halal Food Laws. Compr Rev Food Sci Food Saf 2003;2:111-7.
- Riaz, M; Chaudry, M (2004) Halal Food Production.
|Change date||Section updated||Change|
|July 2019||Precautions||Added Compliance is to be based on ingredient compliance, rather than provision of Halal certification provided by manufacturers|
|February 2022||Specific menu planning guidelines - Miscellaneous||In Allowed, halal certified nutritional supplements replaced with Nutritional supplements containing allowed ingredients|
|In Not allowed, added after cochineal colouring (also called carmine, carminic acid, colour 120 or natural red 4)|
|References||Added Riaz, M; Chaudry, M (2004) Halal Food Production.|