Abbreviated Injury Scale

The Abbreviated Injury Scale (AIS) is an anatomically-based injury severity scoring system that classifies each injury by body region on a 6 point scale. AIS is the system used to determine the Injury Severity Score (ISS) of the multiply injured patient.1

AIS Classifications

The AIS classifies individual injuries by body region as follows:

  • AIS 1 – Minor
  • AIS 2 – Moderate
  • AIS 3 – Serious
  • AIS 4 – Severe
  • AIS 5 – Critical
  • AIS 6 – Maximal (currently untreatable)

The AIS version currently used in New South Wales is the AIS 2005 - Update 2008 version. Information about updates and changes to the AIS versions are available at the Association for Advancement of Automotive Medicine (AAAM) - AIS update information page.

See also


  1. Abbreviated Injury Scale (AIS) - Overview [Internet]. Association for the Advancement of Automotive Medicine. 2019 [cited 7 August 2019]. Available from:



Contact us



View all ITIM tweets


Loading latest video...

See all videos