History of ITIM

The Greater Metropolitan Services Implementation Group (GMSIG) recommended the establishment of a virtual Trauma Institute in their June 2001 Report. NSW Health established an Executive Committee to progress this recommendation over a three-month period. In December 2001, the Executive Committee presented a report to the then Minister for Health, the Hon. Craig Knowles MP. In January 2002, an interim secretariat was established by seconding or employing staff on a consultancy basis to ensure the Institute was operational within the recommended time frame.

On 16th May 2002, the Health Minister formally announced the establishment of the newly named NSW Institute of Trauma and Injury Management (ITIM).

In November 2012, ITIM transitioned to become part of the Agency for Clinical Innovation (ACI).


  • Prof Danny Cass (2002 - 2010)
  • Dr Peter Clark (2010 -  2013)
  • Dr Oran Rigby (2013 - 2016)
  • Assoc Prof Michael Dinh (2016 - present)


  • Patricia McDougal OAM (2002 - 2013)
  • Christine Lassen (2013 - 2020)
  • Glenn Sisson (2020 - present)

About ITIM


Contact us



View all ITIM tweets


Loading latest video...

See all videos