NSW trauma services

The trauma services of NSW provide expert care for injured patients, coordinating the multidisciplinary teams and advocating for patients, both within the acute and rehabilitative phases.

Levels of service

Map of NSW trauma services
The NSW trauma system is comprised of three levels of service:
  • Major trauma services
  • Regional trauma services
  • Local hospitals

Major trauma services

Main article: Major trauma services

A major trauma service (MTS) can provide the full spectrum of care for major and moderately injured patients, from initial resuscitation through to rehabilitation and discharge.

There are currently 7 adult and 3 paediatric designated MTS in NSW:

Adult MTS:

  • John Hunter Hospital
  • Liverpool Hospital
  • Royal North Shore Hospital
  • Royal Prince Alfred Hospital
  • St George Hospital
  • St Vincent's Hospital
  • Westmead Hospital

Paediatric MTS:

  • John Hunter Children's Hospital
  • Sydney Children's Hospital
  • The Children's Hospital at Westmead
Canberra Hospital is also formally recognised as a MTS within the NSW trauma networks as it provides a trauma tertiary referral role to the Southern NSW Local Health District.1

Regional trauma services

Main article: Regional trauma services

A regional trauma service (RTS) can provide all aspects of care to patients with moderate to minor trauma, and definitive care to a limited number of major trauma patients in collaboration with the MTS. A RTS provides initial assessment, stabilisation, definitive care and initiate transfer to an MTS when a patient requires services not available at the RTS.

There are currently 10 designated RTS in NSW:
  • Coffs Harbour Base Hospital
  • Gosford Hospital
  • Lismore Base Hospital
  • Nepean Hospital
  • Orange Health Service
  • Port Macquarie Base Hospital
  • Tamworth Rural Referral Hospital
  • The Tweed Hospital
  • Wagga Wagga Base Hospital
  • Wollongong Hospital

Local Hospitals

Local hospitals are also an important component of the inclusive trauma system, but are not designated trauma services. These local hospitals may be tertiary hospitals, such as Prince of Wales Hospital, while others are hospitals serving predominantly local communities in metropolitan or rural areas. As per the Ambulance Service of NSW Protocol T1, these local hospitals will be bypassed for major trauma. However, they will continue to receive minor to moderate trauma cases via ambulance and occasionally major trauma by private transport.

In rural and remote areas, where the travel times are too great (>1hr) for patients to be transported directly to a RTS, the rural local hospitals will provide initial assessment, resuscitation and early transfer to a RTS or MTS.

NSW Trauma Services Model of Care

The NSW Trauma Services Model of Care document outlines the resourcing and performance requirements of designated trauma services with the goal of reducing unwarranted clinical variation and improved patient outcomes.

See also


  1. NSW Department of Health (2009). Selected Specialty and Statewide Service Plans: NSW Trauma Services. Sydney: NSW Department of Health. pp. 37.



Contact us




View all ITIM tweets


Loading latest video...

See all videos