Abbreviated Injury Scale

The Abbreviated Injury Scale (AIS) is an anatomically-based, consensus-derived, global severity scoring system that classifies each injury by body region according to its relative importance on a 6 point ordinal scale. AIS is the basis for the Injury Severity Score (ISS) calculation of the multiply injured patient.

AIS Classifications

The AIS classifies individual injuries by body region as follows:

  • AIS 1 – Minor
  • AIS 2 – Moderate
  • AIS 3 – Serious
  • AIS 4 – Severe
  • AIS 5 – Critical
  • AIS 6 – Maximal (currently untreatable)

The AIS version currently used in New South Wales is the AIS 2005 - Update 2008 version. Information about updates and changes to the AIS versions are available at the Association for Advancement of Automotive Medicine (AAAM) - AIS update information page.

See also



Contact us



View all ITIM tweets


Loading latest video...

See all videos