Research Advisory Committee

Co-Chairs - Amith Shetty & Kate Curtis

Secretariat - Hatem Alkhouri

Terms of Reference - Endorsed 14 February 2012


The role of the Research Advisory Committee will be to:

  • identify research priorities relating to clinical practice and health service delivery in emergency care, liaising with the clinical and incident advisory committees
  • evaluate and endorse specific emergency care research projects
  • evaluate and advise on applicability of current and emerging emergency care clinical guidelines from the ECI and other bodies
  • provide research advice for specific ECI projects or outputs
  • identify opportunities for the translation of research in emergency care
  • issues and priorities relating to clinical practice in emergency care
  • provide advice regarding strategic approaches to emergency care
  • respond to ad hoc requests outside the formal meeting where urgent
  • liaise with the clinical and incident advisory committees


  • Hatem Alkhouri, Agency for Clinical Innovation
  • Rod Bishop, Nepean Hospital
  • Brian Burns, Liverpool Hospital
  • Kate Curtis, St George Hospital and University of Sydney
  • Vanessa Evans, Agency for Clinical Innovation
  • Lesley Fitzpatrick, Northern Sydney LHD
  • Margaret Fry, University of Technology Sydney
  • Mark Gillett, Royal North Shore Hospital
  • Michael Golding, Agency for Clinical Innovation
  • Darren Moisey, Hunter New England LHD
  • Margaret Murphy, Westmead Hospital
  • Fenton O'Leary, Sydney Children's Hospital Network
  • Sharene Pascoe, Northern NSW LHD
  • Prithi Pather, Liverpool Hospital
  • Emilie Russell, Campbelltown Hospital
  • Amith Shetty, Westmead Hospital
  • Luke Strachan, Blacktown and Mt Druitt Hospitals
  • Simon Willcock, Hornsby General Practice Unit
  • Lilian Wong, St George Hospital

Research Symposiums

Meeting Dates for 2017:

  • Monday, 28 November 2017

Agency for Clinical Innovation

Level 4, Sage Building, 67 Albert Ave, Chatswood

Meeting Summaries:

6 December 201126 November 201328 November 2016
14 February 201213 January 201413 February 2017
17 April 201223 June 201414 August 2017
29 May 201210 November 201428 November 2017
7 August 201227 April 2015 
13 November 20123 August 2015 
5 March 20135 April 2016 
4 June 201330 August 2016

© Agency for Clinical Innovation 2020

Send us feedback on the site