Back to accessibility links

Our Research Committee

Facilitating, undertaking or utilising relevant, high quality and evidence-based research which informs its mandate, functions, strategic plan and priorities is an objective of the ACI. With this objective, a Board Research Committee has been established. This Committee advises the Board on the priority, quality and relevance of research available, undertaken or proposed to be undertaken by, on behalf of, or in partnership with the ACI.

Committee Chair

Professor Andrew Wilson

  • Director of the Menzies Centre for Health Policy at the University of Sydney
  • Director of the NHMRC Partnership Centre on systems perspectives on prevention of lifestyle-related chronic disease


Dr Andrew Cooke

  • Emergency Medicine Physician with dual specialisation in Adult and Paediatric Emergency Medicine
  • Staff Specialist at both the St George Hospital and The Children’s Hospital at Westmead
  • Fellow of the Australasian College of Emergency Medicine (ACEM) and the International Society for Quality in Healthcare (ISQua)

Associate Prof Mary Haines

  • Board Member Sydney Local Health District
  • Senior Adviser at the Sax Institute
  • Adjunct Associate Professor at the Menzies Centre for Health Policy, School of Public Health University of Sydney
  • Director Mary Haines Consulting (MHC)

Professor Phillip Harris OA

  • Clinical Director of the Cardiovascular Service at Sydney Local Health District (SLHD)
  • Professor, Central Clinical School (Medicine), University of Sydney

Dr Jean Frederic Levesque

  • Chief Executive, Agency for Clinical innovation
  • Conjoint Professor, Centre for Primary Health Care and Equity of the University of New South Wales

Ms Carrie Marr

  • Chief Executive, Clinical Excellence Commission

Associate Professor Brian McCaughan AM

  • Chair of Board, Agency for Clinical Innovation
  • Chair of Board, Clinical Excellence Commission
  • Clinical Associate Professor, University of Sydney
  • Cardiothoracic Surgeon, Royal Prince Alfred Hospital

Professor Sandy Middleton

  • Professor, Nursing and Director of the Nursing Research Institute
  • Director, National Centre for Clinical Outcomes Research (NaCCOR), Australian Catholic University

Professor David Peiris

  • Director, Health Systems Science, Office of the Chief Scientist
  • Professor, Faculty of Medicine, UNSW Sydney

Mr Raj Verma

  • Executive Director, System Transformation, Evaluation and Patient Experience, Agency for Clinical Innovation